Visayas State University Pythons’ (VSU) Daniel Acasio and University of the Philippines Tacloban (UPT) Fighting Maroons’ Tiffany Grace Ronato were proclaimed winners as the newest titleholders of Mister & Miss State Colleges and Universities Athletic Association (SCUAA-8) 2023 while Eastern Samar State University (ESSU) Praying Mantises’ Bien Aris Siguan and Palompon Institute of Technology (PIT) Sealions’ Jessajane Belic bagged the Mister & Miss Philippine Association of State Universities and Colleges (PASUC-8) 2023 titles, during the Mister and Miss SUC 8 2023 pageant held October 24, at the VSU Gymnatorium.


After a series of exposures showcasing the beauty and wit of the candidates, including production number, swimwear, Filipiniana, and Barong Tagalog—Siguan, Belic, Acasio, and Ronato rounded up the winner’s circle.


Further, University of Eastern Philippines (UEP) Kathleen Esquillo along with Leyte Normal University (LNU) Golden Falcons’ Gabrielle Nicholas Depaz trailed as first-runners-up, Biliran Province State University (BiPSU) Tigers’ Sarah Jane Villanueva and Fighting Maroons’ Josef Diaz as second-runners-up. 


VSU Pythons’ Reina Lynn Feb Namia, Southern Leyte State University (SLSU) Mighty Kingfishers’ John Michael Besande, and Eastern Visayas State University (EVSU) Eagles’ Sophia Anne Jabien and McLloyd Lean Clamor finished as Top 6 finalists.


Mr. SCUAA-8 2023 title was grabbed by Daniel Christian Acasio, a first-year civil engineering student from Visayas State University (VSU) who also recently won Ginoong Malakas last Salingkusog. In his final question and answer portion, he reiterated the importance of “human intelligence in education” in comparison to artificial intelligence and its real-world applications. VSU takes pride in Mr. Acasio’s great feats and achievements.


The event also presented special awards:


Miss Photogenic - Candidate #9 Tiffany Grace Ronato (UPT)

Mister Photogenic - Candidate #4 Daniel Christian Acasio (VSU)


Female Best in Talent - Candidate #9 Ms. - Tiffany Grace Ronato (UPT)

Male Best in Talent - Candidate #9 Mr. - Josef Diaz (UPT)


Female Best in Production Number - Candidate #9 Ms. - Tiffany Grace Ronato (UPT)

Male Best in Production Number - Candidate #9 Mr. - Josef Diaz (UPT)


Female Best in Swimwear - Candidate #1 Ms. - Jessajane Belic (PIT)

Male Best in Swimwear - Candidate #8 Mr. - Bien Aris Siguan (ESSU)


Best in Filipiniana Gown - Candidate #9 Ms. - Tiffany Grace Ronato (UPT)

Best in Barong Tagalog - Candidate #6 Mr. - McLloyd Lean Clamor (EVSU)


The grand winners are set to compete on the national stage for PASUC 2023 in Laoag City, Ilocos Norte, and for National SCUAA 2024, respectively.

Amaranth Online Newsletter

Be part of our awesome online community!